Scroll Top
Diocese of Cashel, Ferns and Ossory


The General Synod of the Church of Ireland is about to begin.

It will start with Synod Eucharist at 10.00 a.m. in St. Mary’s Cathedral, Limerick. The preacher will be the Right Reverend Dr Kenneth Kearon, Bishop of Limerick and Killaloe.

The Archbishop of Armagh’s Presidential Address will follow at 12.00.

If you would like to follow proceedings at the Synod online over the next three days see

A summary of business completed each day will be posted on the website each evening.

There will be an audio broadcast each day and a Twitter feed using the hash tag #coigs. This hash tag will also be used for Facebook and Instagram.
*The Synod consists of three Orders: the Bishops, Clergy and Laity. *These sit together as two Houses: the House of Bishops and the House of Representatives. The Archbishops and Bishop’s sit as the House of Bishops.
*The diocesan synods elect the members of the House of Representatives who hold office for a triennium.
*The Synod consists of 660 people representing the 12 Church of Ireland dioceses. 2017 is the third year of the current triennium.